February 6, 2010

Creation by Franck Krawczyk
for solo cello, ensemble instrumental and choir

Commissioned by Opéra Comique and SACEM Foundation.
Co-produced by the Centre National des Arts Plastiques
and Plein Jour.
Funding provided by the Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles d’Ile-de-France – Ministère de la culture et de la communication and the agnès b. Endowment Fund.

A strong gust of wind blows over the Pompei’s antique theater. Gripped by the sudden gale, the people stand still like the statues they were looking at. History seems arrested to be played back. Times mingle. Slowly ash ascends back to Vesuvius. Six recomposed times
I. Just after...
II. Long ago...
III. Moment when...
IV. Just before...
V. Long after...
VI. Here and now. (hymn after Gustav Mahler)

- Sonia Wieder-Atherton, solo cello
- String quartet: Sarah Nemtanu, Fabien Boudot, violins  |  Nicolas Bône, viola  |  Eric Picard, cello
- Trio with piano: Franck Krawczyk, piano  |  Pablo Schatzman, violin  |  Joël Schatzman, cello
- David Douçot, bassoon  |  Didier Benetti, Emmanuel Curt, timpanies  |  Arthur Astier, Marius Atherton, electric guitars
- La Chorale Piast et le Chœur d’adultes du Conservatoire Camille St-Saens de Paris 8e

Concert in the Grand Palais Nave within Personnes - Monumenta 2010 – Christian Boltanski,
following a "Prologue" in Champs-Elysées Clémenceau metro station.
français  |  english